STEM RESOURCES

This single-volume encyclopedia is a comprehensive, subject-specific guide to concepts, theories, discoveries, pioneers and issues. It includes approximately 1,000 alphabetically arranged entries and more than 350 photographs and illustrations in an intelligently organized and detailed format written in clear, concise and easy-to-understand language.

The Encyclopedia of Automotive Engineering provides for the first time a large, unified knowledge base laying the foundation for advanced study and in-depth research.

This machine is destined to completely revolutionize cylinder diesel engine up through large low speed t- engine engineering and replace everything that exists. stroke diesel engines. An appendix lists the most (From Rudolf Diesel's letter of October 2, 1892 to the important standards and regulations for diesel engines.

The Encyclopedia of Classic Cars lists over 1000 of the world's most covered cars, clearly ordered by manufacturer for easy reference.

Available Online also

"Computer Sciences is part of the well-respected Macmillan Science Library franchise. This full color four volume set is organized in 4 separate thematic volumes covering the following topics: Foundations, Ideas and People: This volume covers the innovators and history of Computer Science in both theoretical developments and practical application of the discipline. Software and Hardware: This volume covers topics from system analysis and design to operating systems and parallel processing. Social Applications: From fashion design to meteorology, this volume covers how the use of computers impacts our everyday lives. Electronic Universe: This volume delves into the internet and the interconnected, networked society. Also discussed in this volume are artificial intelligence, encryption, and mobile computing "

Geographic information science (GIS) is an emerging field that combines aspects of many different disciplines. As a result, GIS literature is spread widely across the academic spectrum and the vocabulary is an amalgam of all of these fields. Often, given the specialized disciplinary orientations of authors, some expectation of foundational knowledge is assumed in much of the literature, making it difficult for readers from different disciplines to understand the full context of what they are reading. The Encyclopedia of Geographical Information Science provides a condensed but rich resource about themes broadly across the field. It also provides details about the key foundations of GIS, no matter what their disciplinary origins, and is, therefore, an important resource for both academic and corporate libraries. Key Themes: - Conceptual Foundations - Cartography and visualisation - Design aspects - Data modeling - Data manipulation - Geocomputation - Geospatial data - Societorial Issues - Spatial analysis - Organizational and institutional aspects

An Introduction to Computer Networksis a free and open general-purpose computer-networking textbook, complete with diagrams and exercises.It covers the LAN, internetworking and transport layers, focusing primarily on TCP/IP. Particular attention is paid to congestion; other special topics include queuing, real-time traffic, network management, security and the ns simulator.

The book is suitable as the primary text for an undergraduate or introductory graduate course in computer networking, as a supplemental text for a wide variety of network-related courses, and as a reference work.

Includes 7,000 articles covering various disciplines of science and technology. This volume includes entries in areas such as biotechnology, chemistry, cosmology, environ-mental science and technology, computing and information technology, cell and molecular biology, nanotechnology, telecommunications, and theoretical physics and applied physics.

Cyber Security features articles from the Wiley Handbook of Science and Technology for Homeland Security covering topics related to cybernbsp;security metrics and measurenbsp; andnbsp;related technologies that meetnbsp;security needs. Specific applications to web services, the banking and the finance sector, and industrial process control systems are discussed.