HUMAN SEXUALITY: Reference Resources

For a free 30-day online trial to this title, visit www.sagepub.com/freetrialThe two volumes of this encyclopedia seek to explore myriad ways in which we define ourselves in our daily lives. Comprising 300 entries, the Encyclopedia of Identity offers readers an opportunity to understand identity as a socially constructed phenomenon - a dynamic process both public and private, shaped by past experiences and present circumstances, and evolving over time.Offering a broad, comprehensive overview of the definitions, politics, manifestations, concepts, and ideas related to identity, the entries include short biographies of major thinkers and leaders, as well as discussions of events, personalities, and concepts.  The Encyclopedia of Identity is designed for readers to grasp the nature and breadth of identity as a psychological, social, anthropological, and popular idea.Key ThemesArtClassDeveloping IdentitiesGender, Sex, and SexualityIdentities in ConflictLanguage and DiscourseLiving EthicallyMedia and Popular CultureNationality Protecting IdentityRace, Culture, and EthnicityRelating Across CulturesReligionRepresentations of IdentityTheories of Identity

This new edition of Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders (DSM-5), used by clinicians and researchers to diagnose and classify mental disorders, is the product of more than 10 years of effort by hundreds of international experts in all aspects of mental health. Their dedication and hard work have yielded an authoritative volume that defines and classifies mental disorders in order to improve diagnoses, treatment, and research. The criteria are concise and explicit, intended to facilitate an objective assessment of symptom presentations in a variety of clinical settings--inpatient, outpatient, partial hospital, consultation-liaison, clinical, private practice, and primary care. New features and enhancements make DSM-5 easier to use across all settings: * The chapter organization reflects a lifespan approach, with disorders typically diagnosed in childhood (such as neurodevelopmental disorders) at the beginning of the manual, and those more typical of older adults (such as neurocognitive disorders) placed at the end. Also included are age-related factors specific to diagnosis. * The latest findings in neuroimaging and genetics have been integrated into each disorder along with gender and cultural considerations.* The revised organizational structure recognizes symptoms that span multiple diagnostic categories, providing new clinical insight in diagnosis. * Specific criteria have been streamlined, consolidated, or clarified to be consistent with clinical practice (including the consolidation of autism disorder, Asperger's syndrome, and pervasive developmental disorder into autism spectrum disorder; the streamlined classification of bipolar and depressive disorders; the restructuring of substance use disorders for consistency and clarity; and the enhanced specificity for major and mild neurocognitive disorders).* Dimensional assessments for research and validation of clinical results have been provided.* Both ICD-9-CM and ICD-10-CM codes are included for each disorder, and the organizational structure is consistent with the new ICD-11 in development. The Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders, Fifth Edition, is the most comprehensive, current, and critical resource for clinical practice available to today's mental health clinicians and researchers of all orientations. The information contained in the manual is also valuable to other physicians and health professionals, including psychologists, counselors, nurses, and occupational and rehabilitation therapists, as well as social workers and forensic and legal specialists.

Sexuality is a fundamental component of human psychological experience, and yet it remains relatively underrepresented in the history of the psychological sciences. The APA Handbook on Sexuality and Psychology marks a turning point in the status of sexuality within the discipline of psychology. This comprehensive, two-volume handbook provides an overarching review of current empirical research on sexuality and a synthesis of the dominant theoretical perspectives that have guided both research and clinical practice. An organising current throughout the volume is the integration of individual experience and social/cultural context across every domain of sexuality. This dual emphasis on person and context is reflected in the structure of the handbook itself. Volume 1 presents foundational information on the history, theoretical and methodological development and current practices in the field, and then moves on to address foundational aspects of sexuality, including desire, orientation, behaviour and practices, individual lifespan development, and biological substrates. Volume 2 broadens the analytical frame to emphasise the core contextual factors known to influence the development, expression and interpretation of sexuality and its expression in and through all of the key social institutions of our society, including marginalised populations, education, sexual rights and communities, globalisation, religion and the media. The APA Handbook on Sexuality and Psychology will become a defining resource of this increasingly central topic across the sub-disciplines of psychology.