Research Guides: HUMAN SEXUALITY: Political Science and Public Policy

Local, State, National Politics and Policy

This page lists useful resources relating to the study of human sexuality from the perspective of Political science and public policy. The study and personal or social expression of human sexuality is affected by public policies, laws, and regulations, whether restricted or expanded, or provided with a direction or focus. Public policy can provide generous funding, or can restrict or eliminate funding. Protests or advocacy groups Like the ME TOO and Black Lives Matter Movements, can influence or change public policy.

Databases

The following databases are available through the library, and may be particularly useful for finding articles relating to this topic. To retrieve more useful material, you may want to combine the specific aspect of human sexuality that you're researching with terms such as "public policy", "law", "legislation", or "political aspects".

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Full text articles from over 2,100 academic research journals dating back to 1985, many are peer reviewed. Use Firefox or Chrome.
CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window
Research reports on current issues and controversial topics, pro and con arguments, graphics, maps, charts, links to college-level, quality websites
Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
Search in hundreds of encyclopedias, dictionaries, thesauri, quotations, and subject-specific titles, as well as 200,000+ images and audio files, nearly 200 videos.
Ethnic NewsWatch Contains full-text articles appearing in numerous U.S. racial and ethnic minority newspapers, consumer magazines, and some journals published since 1990, focusing on African American, American Indian, Asian American, and U.S. Latino publications.

More Online Reference Resources

The International Encyclopedia of Human Sexuality. c2015 Available online Instructions for Paste and Spellcheck

Health Education: sexuality education in different contexts: limitations and possibilities. Simovska, Venka, editor; Kane, Ros, editor. Available online

Online Reference Resources

International Handbook on the Demography of Sexuality by Amanda K. Baumle (Editor)
ISBN: 9789400755116
Publication Date: 2013-05-31
The International Handbook on the Demography of Sexuality is the first book to specifically address the study of sexuality from a demographic perspective. Demographic research has largely paid little attention to sexuality as a whole, or sexual orientation in particular, other than in studies examining the "consequences" of sex - sexually transmitted infections or fertility. Instead, the content of this handbook explores population sexuality in order to describe the prevalence of sexual behaviors, desires, and identities, as well as their connections with other demographic outcomes. The focus is on analyzing sexuality as a demographic topic in its own right, rather than solely as a variable in studies of sexually transmitted infection or other health-related topics. In this book, both researchers with traditional demographic backgrounds, as well as those with training in other disciplines, provide an overview of the state of current research on population sexuality. These chapters provide a foundation for the development of research in the burgeoning field of the demography of sexuality.