Research Guides: Open Educational Resources (OER) and Zero Textbook-Cost (ZTC) Materials: Authoring OER

Authoring OER

Resources on this page will help you to re-use OER existing materials and remix them with original materials, to ensure materials are accessible to students and instructors, and to identify free and low-cost techniques, tools and platforms for publishing your materials to the web or in print.

Authoring Accessible OER at CUNY

CUNY Accessibility Toolkit for Open Educational Resources (OER): Home
This guide was created to assist CUNY Librarians, faculty, staff & OER developers create accessible content and accessible Open Educational Resources (OER).

OER Authoring Guides

Authoring Open Textbooks
This guide includes a checklist for getting started, publishing program case studies, textbook organization and elements, writing resources and an overview of useful tools when writing an open textbook.
CUNY Pressbooks Guide
The CUNY Pressbooks Guide is a guide to Pressbooks written with CUNY faculty in mind.
Rebus Guide to Publishing Open Textbooks
A book-in-progress, written to equip all those who want to publish open textbooks.
Adaptation Guide
A practical guide to adapting or revising open textbooks using the PressBooks platform.
Self-Publishing Guide
This guide provides details on the preparation, planning, writing, publication, and maintenance of an open textbook.

Creating OERs

OER Authoring Platforms

Please contact Michael Kahn if you are interested in discussing the OER authoring platform that is best for your material/course. BCC/CUNY has Pressbooks and Manifold EDU accounts.

CUNY Pressbooks Network
This is the homepage for the CUNY Pressbooks Network. It contains links to training, the Pressbooks Directory, and sources of additional support.
Pressbook Users Guide
This guide provides information about how to use Pressbooks to create, adapt, and share content.
Manifold @ CUNY
Manifold CUNY is a grant funded open-source platform for digital publishing where you can create and share your own scholarship, custom classroom versions of texts and textbooks that are openly licensed or in the public domain, Open Educational Resources (OER), journals, or use Manifold Reading Groups to build your own course reader from materials already available on our instance of Manifold.
Getting Started with Manifold A Collection of Quick Guides
CUNY @ Manifold provides a A collection of easy to use guides that will get you up and running on Manifold in no time!