Research Guides: Understanding Educational Reform in Chile's Young Democracy (1995-2017): Chile's Education Sector

BCC / CUNY Books & Media

Study of the Secondary School History Curriculum in Chile from Colonial Times to the Present by Carmen Gloria Zúñiga; Simon Clarke; Thomas O'Donoghue
Call Number: [E-Book - Hunter]
ISBN: 9789462099265
Publication Date: 2015-02-03
"The focus of this book is on the secondary school history curriculum in Chile from colonial times to the present. By way of background, attention is paid to the development of the history curriculum in the three countries which have most influenced educational developments in Chile, namely, England, the United States of America and Spain."
Market - Based Reforms in Urban Education by Helen F. Ladd
Call Number: LC5119 .L33 2002 [Baruch - Stacks]
ISBN: 0944826989
Publication Date: 2002-01-01
School Choice in Chile by Varun Gauri
Call Number: LB1027.9 .G38 1998 [City College - Stacks]
ISBN: 0822956780
Publication Date: 1999-01-07
School Choice in Chile examines the dramatic educational decentralization and privatization of schools in Chile.
Political Ideology and Educational Reform in Chile, 1964-1976 by Kathleen B. Fischer
Call Number: LC92.C5 F57 1979 [City College - Stacks]
ISBN: 0879030461
Publication Date: 1979-09-01
Education, Values and the Possibilities for Social Change in Chile by Kalman H. Silvert; Joel M. Jutkowitz
Call Number: LC92 .C5 S54 [Queens - Stacks]
ISBN: 0915980614
Publication Date: 1976-07-01
Academic Rebels in Chile by Ivan Jaksic
Call Number: B1046 .J35 1989 [Queens - Stacks]
ISBN: 0887068790
Publication Date: 1989-07-03
This book describes in detail the evolution of philosophical work in Chile, and pays close attention to the relationship between philosophical activity and contemporary social and political events. Various Chilean philosophical sources are discussed for the first time in the literature on Chilean ideas. The work of such intellectuals as Andres Bello, Valentin Letelier, Enrique Molina, Jorge Millas, Juan Rivano, Juan de Dios Vial Larrain, and many others is examined in relation to the principal political and educational issues of their time. The book also develops a distinction between the two main currents of Chilean philosophy, namely, a "professionalist" current that seeks the independence of the field from social and political involvements, and a "critical" current that seeks to relate philosophical activity to national realities.
Natural Unified School Allende's Chile by Joseph P. Farrell
Call Number: LC92 .C5 F37 1986 [Queens - Stacks]
ISBN: 0774802421
Publication Date: 1986-05-22
Second International Handbook of Educational Change by Andy Hargreaves
Call Number: [CUNY - E-Book]
ISBN: 9048126606
Publication Date: 2010-01-01
The updated handbook remains connected to the classical concerns of the field, such as educational innovation, reform, and change management, and also offers new insights into educational change that have been brought about by social change and shifting contexts of educational reform. No other work provides such a wide-ranging and comprehensive examination of the field of educational change.

BCC / CUNY Databases

Education Source (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
A database designed to meet the needs of education students, professionals and policy makers. The extensive collection includes full text for more than 1,700 journals, 550 books and monographs, education-related conference papers, citations for over 4 million articles including book reviews.
Gale in Context: Global Issues This link opens in a new window
International viewpoints on a broad spectrum of global issues, topics, and current events. Featured are hundreds of continuously updated issue and country portals that bring together a variety of specially selected, highly relevant sources for analysis of social, political, military, economic, environmental, health, and cultural issues. Rich multimedia - including podcasts, video, and interactive graphs - enhance each portal.
Humanities Source (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
The collection includes full text for more than 1,400 journals, with citations to over 3.5 million articles, including book reviews in all aspects of the humanities.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Full-text article collections from leading journals. Includes Arts & Sciences I, General Science, Ecology & Botany, Business. Language & literature, and the Arts & Science II Collection.
Readers' Guide Full Text Mega (H.W. Wilson) (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
The Readers' Guide to Periodical Literature, now in a powerfully searchable database.
Social Sciences Full-Text (H.W. Wilson) (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
Up-to-date articles from research journals with full-text access.
SocINDEX with Full Text (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive and highest quality sociology research database including more than 860 journals dating back to 1908, 830 books and monographs and over 16,800 conference papers
CUNY Funded
Archives of Latin American and Caribbean History, 16th - 20th Century This link opens in a new window
Offer a range of content for the region, providing opportunities for research into issues and events in contemporary Latin American and Caribbean history, as well as historical perspective back to the colonial period. Coverage extends from the 15th to 20th century, providing information about the indigenous peoples of the region, the Conquest (la Conquista), colonial rule, religion, struggles for independence, and political, economic, and social progress and issues in newly independent nations.--From vendor

Web sites

Free Speech Radio News
Web-based journalism of Joshua Tcuker
more...less...
Http://www.Joshuatreetrucker.com
Mediatization of Educational Policies in Chile
C. Cabalin - Chapter two in:
News Media and the Neoliberal Privatization of Education
edited by Zane C. Wubbena, Derek R. Ford, Brad J. Porfilio
Ministerial Education de Chile
The official government web site for Chilean standards in education.
A critique to the standardization for accountability: narrative of resistance of the assessment system in Chile
Article by:
Mauricio Pino Yancovic
Gonzalo Oyarzún Vargas
Iván Salinas Barrios
Gross Violations of the Right to Education in Chile: Time to Act
Web-based report on organizational site of "derecho a la Education."
The Limits of 'Buying Time': Financialization and the Politics of Student Debt in Chile
Article by F. Gonzalez Lopez
PROTECTING THE POOR: WELFARE POLITICS IN LATIN AMERICA’S FREE MARKET ERA
Jennifer Pribble dissertation - discusses inequities in education as a result of policy
more...less...
"..."that the organizational structure of political parties and the design of previous policies are the primary determinants of differences in education, health, and social assistance reform since the adoption of free-market economic policies and the re-installation of democracy in the mid 1980s."

Understanding Educational Reform in Chile's Young Democracy (1995-2017): Chile's Education Sector

Key Questions:

BCC / CUNY Books & Media

BCC / CUNY Databases

Web sites

Search Strategies