Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

OneBook "Why the Cocks Fight": Databases

This guide will collect different resources on the book "Why the Cocks Fight"

Helpful Hints

When using academic databases, it's important to:

1) read the SCOPE of the database you are looking to use.  ​Many of the different databases look the same because they come from the same vendor, but they are very different in the kind of information they cover.  Just because it looks familiar does not mean it covers what you are looking for.

2) ​use KEYWORDS and CONNECTORS.​  These databases do not respond to natural language searching.  For example, "What was the gross domestic product of the united states in 1985?" will not, as a general rule, work on these databases.  You would want to put together a search such as "gross domestic product AND united states and 1985".  Also, there are many ways to filter and refine results once you get a set.  Play around with the databases to get a feel for the different functions.

3) ​email documents AND citations to yourself.​  Many people print out articles and then days later lose a page or two and then have to recreate the search.  Just email the documents to yourself as all of the databases have that function.  Also, they all have a brief citation function that will give you a head start in putting together a citation sheet.

Need More Help?

  • Reference Desk 718-289-5974

Interdisciplinary Databases

Off-Campus Access

To access the library databases off-campus from the library homepage,  

  1. Click on ARTICLES/DATABASES tab, then click on SEARCH box
  2. Select the database you want to use, log in using your CUNY login credentials, firstname.lastname##@login.cuny.edu and password.