Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Use the links below to find OER and ZTC materials, including individual assignments, assessments, textbooks, and entire courses. Be sure to confirm the licensing terms of any material you use, as some sites link to materials that are not open access or in the public domain.
OER Search Engines
Openly Available Sources Integrated Search (OASIS) is a search tool that aims to make the discovery of open content easier. OASIS currently searches open content from 61 different sources and contains 160,072 records.
Multimedia Educational Resource for Learning and Online Teaching (MERLOT) is one of the premiere OER search engines providing links and user reviews of free and openly-licensed teaching and learning material.
Search for free content in the public domain and under Creative Commons licenses. CC Search searches images across 19 collections pulled from open APIs and the Common Crawl dataset, including cultural works from museums (the Metropolitan Museum of Art, Cleveland Museum of Art), graphic designs and art works (Behance, DeviantArt), photos from Flickr, and an initial set of CC0 3D designs from Thingiverse.
OpenEd CUNY is a curated digital library of open educational resources created, adapted, edited, and remixed by CUNY faculty and students.
OER Commons is a public digital library of open educational resources.
The OER Metafinder is a real-time, simultaneous search across all the content of 17 different sources of open educational materials.
Skills Commons provides access to free and openly-licensed workforce development materials.
OER repositories contain more than just open textbooks. All content featured within these pages is free but usage rights vary. Materials in these repositories are released under a Creative Commons license while some are in the public domain.
AMSER (Applied Math and Science Education Repository)
Portal of educational resources and services built specifically for use by those in community and technical Colleges.
California Open Online Library for Education (Cool4Ed)
Library of free open source textbooks and other materials from the State of California Higher Educations Systems.
Creative Commons Search
Use this prototype to find images that you can use and remix across several open archives.
This library contains downloadable free courses, video lectures, and supplemental materials from universities across the globe.
A web-based publication of materials from thousands of MIT courses. OCW is open and available to the world and is a permanent MIT activity.
Open Course Library
The Open Course Library (OCL) is a collection of shareable course materials, including syllabi, course activities, readings, and assessments designed by teams of college faculty, instructional designers, librarians, and other experts.
A hub that helps people find, use, and create openly licensed content and provides a space to share their educational content. through partnerships with community of schools & colleges, campuses, faculty, students and alumni.
Open New York State
A joint effort of CUNY and SUNY, this is a collection of OER material used at the state's largest educational institutions
The Orange Grove
Florida's digital repository for instructional resources.
Preprint Archive Search
This platform brings together LawArXiv, SocArXiv, PsyArXiv, and engrXiv to enable users to search across pre-prints in these fields.
Using public domain books from Project Gutenberg, volunteers clean up the formatting and make the books available for download in multiple formats.
A guide to Open Educational Resources across the web by discipline and by type (e,g, lesson plans, assignments, etc).
World Digital Library
The WDL makes available on the Internet, free of charge and in multilingual format, significant primary materials from all countries and cultures.
Open Textbook Collections
Open textbooks are free, online learning materials with Creative Commons licenses. Many of the collections will have links to the same books, but each will have a particular focus, and items you can't find in other collections.
BC Campus OpenEd
Open textbooks for the 40 highest enrolled first- and second-year subject areas in the British Columbia's public, post-secondary system.
European eBook publisher with 1000+ textbooks freely available to download. E-books are primarily in business/economics, engineering/natural sciences and IT.
Initiated by Rice University, their free textbooks are developed and peer-reviewed to ensure they meet the scope and sequence requirements of college courses.
Open Textbook Library
Created by the University of Minnesota to support development of high-quality open textbooks in various subjects.
Collection of freely available open textbooks for download, online reading, and sharing.
SUNY Open Textbooks
With the initiative of the SUNY Libraries, Open SUNY Textbooks publishes high-quality, peer-reviewed textbooks for use in higher education.
The Teaching Commons brings together high-quality open educational resources from leading colleges and universities. Curated by librarians and their institutions, the Teaching Commons includes open access textbooks, course materials, lesson plans, multimedia, and more.
Directory of Open Access Books
8488 Academic peer-reviewed books and chapters from 220 publishers
Open Textbook Store
A free collection of mathematics-related open textbooks. Includes supplements and a link to order print copies of the book.