Skip to main content

Archives & Special Collections: About the Archives

Guide to BCC's Archives & Special Collections

About the Archives

The Archives & Special Collections collects, preserves, and makes available primary and secondary materials that document the history of the campus since 1973 when NYU moved back to Greenwich Village and the campus officially became Bronx Community College (BCC). Through its collections, the Archives will not only chronicle the history and academic achievements of the campus, but it will also promote awareness of the diverse ethnic and cultural history of its student body and the local Bronx community that it serves. Our mission to acquire and preserve materials is coupled with a commitment to outreach and access. 

The Archives’ focus is the history of the College and records the activities of the administration, academic departments, faculty, staff, students, and related organizations of the Bronx Community College and its predecessor institutions. The Special Collections concentrates on the history of Bronx political culture and public policy discourse. 

Currently, the repository for the College include records from 1957 to present; Board of Trustees minutes, yearbooks, college catalogs, blueprints, photographs, correspondence and office files relevant to the history of the College. The collection also contains the Records of the Hall of Fame of Great Americans, as well as BCC faculty papers.

Archives Newsletter

The Archives newsletter is a biannual publication that informs the College about our collections, upcoming events, staff and projects.

Spring 2017 issue 

Policies

  1. The Archives are open by appointment only. 

  2. Archival materials do not circulate.

  3. Photocopies may be made by the archivist, so long as the photocopying process does not damage the documents.

  4. Researchers who wish to visit the the archives in person are asked to set up an appointment in advance with the archivist.

  5. Researchers who wish to work with archival materials remotely may contact the archivist with the nature and scope of their research, and in many cases photocopies of specific materials can be provided. 

  6. Research requests via email generally have a 48 hour turnaround time.

  7. Digitization requests are made on a case-by-case basis. Archivist will process digital image requests of archival holdings for faculty for their classes. 

  8. Information about researchers' work in the Archives and Special Collections, including their topics and the materials used, will be kept strictly confidential.

  9. All requests need to be made via email. Contact archives@bcc.cuny.edu

​For more on policies at the Archives, go to the Library's Archives Page.

Hours of Operation

HOURS OF OPERATION 

Monday-Friday: By Appointment Only 

Saturday/Sunday: Closed

TOURS AND CLASS VISITS ARE AVAILABLE BY APPOINTMENT or DURING NORMAL LIBRARY HOURS. 

 

Plan a Visit

What should I expect when conducting research in the Archives?

Here are six easy steps to follow to research archival and special collections:

  • Select a topic - person, place, or event.  Your research may have a general theme but it is easiest to research specific people, places, or events.  Look at a few published articles that may provide background information, including our Databases.  If you have questions, contact the Archives or a subject librarian to discuss your research topic.  
  • Identify what collection(s) you wish to view and which boxes you wish to see within that collection.  Each finding aid contains an inventory that lists what materials are in the collection and in what boxes they are stored. Decide which boxes you wish to view.  We can place a total of six boxes of material (from one collection or different collections) on reserve for a researcher at one time. As the researcher looks through these and has them discharged, other boxes can be placed on reserve.
  • Contact the Archives. Be sure to email at least 48 hours (2 business days) before you plan to visit with the collection name and box numbers you wish to see. Staff may have to retrieve materials from an off-site location and cannot produce the materials immediately upon request.  The materials will be placed on reserve for you to look at in a study room in the Library.
  • Visit the Library and be prepared to show identification, fill out some paperwork, and store your personal belongings with staff. While all archivists and librarians want you to be able to see this special stuff, we also need to make sure it survives for future generations to experience. We follow these procedures with everyone who wishes to use our materials. Feel free to bring your laptop, books, and paper into the study room.  We recommend that you bring a digital camera with you in case you see material you would like to reproduce - but be sure to ask permission before taking any photographs.
  • Use your head, write with lead.  Bring some pencils with you to the archives because pens are not allowed (have you ever had a pen explode on you before?). When you are using the materials, please do so with care. Pay attention to what you are doing and how you are doing it. If you have any doubts at all about how to handle something, ask. We are always happy to help. Remember, most of these items are one-of-a-kind. If something is ruined, there are often no other copies to be had!
  • Spread the word! After your primary source experience, be sure to tell others about it. The best way to ensure that these exciting, interesting materials stay accessible for years to come is to continue having excited researchers like you. How do we do that? With your help – word of mouth!

Copyright & Fair Use

Use of manuscripts, published materials or oral history interviews is subject to provisions of the copyright law. Permission to examine materials, or to obtain copies, does not imply the right to publish or reproduce them, in whole or in part. Permission must be obtained from the author or anyone else who holds copyright or other publication rights. The researcher assumes full responsibility for conforming with the laws of libel, copyright, and literary property rights when quoting or publishing archival materials.

Archivist/Librarian

Cynthia Tobar
Contact:
North Hall and Library
Rm. 246
718.289.5436
Website / Blog PageSkype Contact

Assistant Archivist

Allen Thomas

Contact:

North Hall and Library

Rm. 246

718.289.3569

Social:

Citation

The location and description of collection materials referred to or quoted in papers (published or unpublished) should be cited accurately and completely. Readers are encouraged to provide a free copy of any publication in which Archives material is referred to or quoted. Researchers should use the following citation format when citing records or papers from the Archives: Name of Collection, Title of Document or Name of Correspondents, Dates. Bronx Community College Archives. (i.e., Hall of Fame of Great Americans Collection, George Washington Carver Ceremony, 1977. Bronx Community College Archives).