Define your research question or topic.
Why? Understanding your topic before you dive into searching databases keeps you focused on your topic and less likely to get sidetracked by irrelevant material.
Example: What are the similarities between mixed-sex and same sex couples?
Break it down:
Pick out the core concepts (usually nouns or noun phrases)
Tips: You want between 2-4 keywords. Avoid fluff words like impact and effect.
Why? Words such as 'similarities', and 'differences' are used all the time so you are more likely to get results that aren't relevant to your topic.
Example: sex, same sex partner; mixed sex partner;
Identify 1 or 2 synonyms for each core concept
Why?
Computers aren't that smart. They won't do any interpretations for you, which means they will spit out only what you put in:
Example: Societal effects on sex habits; married couples and co-habitators; socio-cultural influences on human sexuality; how does 'race' influence human sexuality? What are some of the stereotypes that affect human sexuality? Is sex education good or bad? Do parents' influence their children's sexuality?
These links take you to some of our academic databases where you can find academic journal articles on your research topic. These are just a few of the databases we offer, and you can find more at our main library database page. You can find more suggested databases by looking under the subject drop-down lists.
To access the Databases off-campus, you will your CUNYFIRST username and password.
BCC OneSearch combines in one searchable place: the CUNY library catalog; journals, magazines, and newspapers articles; and unique digital content from the library.
The BCC Library believes that a campus environment that celebrates differences in sexuality, sexual identity and gender identity is beneficial to the entire BCC community.
The LGBTQI + Resource Room at Bronx Community College works to foster an inclusive, safe, and welcoming environment for students, faculty, and staff of all sexual orientations, gender identities, and gender expressions. The Resource Room aims to sustain visibility and a sense of community by providing LGBTQI + education, programming, and support services on campus.
The LGBTQI + Resource Room fulfills its mission through varied programming that includes the Safe Space Program, the Rainbow Alliance student club, the LGBTQI+ Support Group, as well as the Loud! newsletter.
The following sites will help you find out more about human sexuality from respected researchers in the field.