Research Guides: Woman and Gender: Databases

Helpful Hints

Remember that whenever you are researching anything involving gender | sexuality | ethnicity | race that the terms change frequently.

Don't just rely on the words/terms you prefer!

Just a few of the keywords used in gender and women's studies research (the * will tell a database to find all forms of the word)

sexualit* asexual* bisexual* dyke* feminin* feminis* gay* homosexual* homosocial intersex* lesbian* masculin* non-heteronormative queer* transgender* transsexual* women* girl*

Info from: http://libguides.libraries.claremont.edu/gws

Subject specific Databases

Gender Studies Collection (Gale) This link opens in a new window
Provides balanced coverage of this significant aspect of culture and society. The database offers access to scholarly journals and magazines covering topics including gender studies, family and marital issues, and more.
Women and Social Movements in the US, 1600-2000 Scholar's Ed. (Alexander) This link opens in a new window
A resource for students and scholars of U.S. history and U.S. women's history. This resource is organized around the history of women in social movements in the U.S.
LGBTQ+ Source This link opens in a new window
LGBT Life with Full Text contains all of the content available in LGBT Life as well as full text for more than 120 of the most important and historically significant LGBT journals, magazines and regional newspapers, as well as more than 150 full-text monographs and books.

Interdisciplinary Databases

Humanities Source (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
The collection includes full text for more than 1,400 journals, with citations to over 3.5 million articles, including book reviews in all aspects of the humanities.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Full-text article collections from leading journals. Includes Arts & Sciences I, General Science, Ecology & Botany, Business. Language & literature, and the Arts & Science II Collection.
Social Sciences Full-Text (H.W. Wilson) (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
Up-to-date articles from research journals with full-text access.
Ethnic NewsWatch (Proquest) This link opens in a new window
Contains full-text articles appearing in numerous U.S. racial and ethnic minority newspapers, consumer magazines, and some journals published since 1990, focusing on African American, American Indian, Asian American, and U.S. Latino publications.