Research Guides: English: Databases

Helpful Hints

Narrowing your topic, having a clear thesis statement and a topic YOU understand and are familiar with, will allow you to be able to select keywords appropriate for your search.

Read your sentences aloud to yourself. Note where the use of language feels unnatural or stilted and rewrite them to sound more logical. At the same time, don't write the way you talk! Avoid slang or informal language, except where appropriate.

Useufel Databases for English Courses

Academic OneFile This link opens in a new window
The premier source for peer-reviewed, full-text articles from the world's leading journals and reference sources. Extensive coverage of the sciences, technology, medicine, the arts, theology, literature and other subjects - authoritative and comprehensive.
Academic Search Complete (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
Multidisciplinary database that provides articles on many topic. Select FULL-TEXT option to obtain only articles readily available.
Gale eBooks - (Gale) This link opens in a new window
More than 12,000 eBooks from over 100 industry-leading publishers, references and monographs covering literature, science, history, science and technology and more,
Bloom's Literature (Infobase) This link opens in a new window
Excellent resource for obtaining information on works of literature, literary criticism and author biographies. Start here when researching literature.
Communication and Mass Media Complete (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
Full-text articles on all aspects of communication and mass media.
CUNY Funded
Communications and Mass Media Collection (GALE) This link opens in a new window
A custom collection focused on all aspects of the communications field; key subjects covered include advertising and public relations, linguistics, and literature and writing, linguistics, and more.
Opposing Viewpoints in Context (Gale) This link opens in a new window
Provides contextual information and opinions on social issues. Features updated viewpoints, topic overviews, full-text magazine, journal and news articles, primary sources, statistics, images, videos, audio files and links to vetted websites.
CUNY Funded
Gale Literature This link opens in a new window
A research environment that integrates formerly disparate Gale digital collections; search Gale Virtual Reference Library, Literature Resource Center, Modern Language Association (MLA) International Bibliography and Twayne's Authors Series simultaneously.
MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
Provides searchable access to bibliographic citations to journal articles, books, dissertations, and scholarly Web sites. It indexes materials from 1926 to the present in academic disciplines such as language, literature, folklore, linguistics, literary theory and criticism, and the dramatic arts. Coverage includes literature from all over the world - Africa, Asia, Australia, Europe, and North and South America.

Need More Help?

Ask a Librarian
Reference Desk 718-289-5974

How do I access library databases off-campus? Off-Campus Access

To access the library databases off campus, beginning at the library homepage,

1. Click on Research

2. Select Articles, then Databases,

3. Select the database you want to use, log in using your BCC Library Barcode Number located in the back of your BCC identification!

The Library barcode number is both YOUR USERNAME and Password. Please remember that this barcode number needs to be validated in person every semester.