Skip to main content

FIRST YEAR SEMINAR RESOURCES: Writing & Citing

These are resources that will support first year experience here at Bronx Community College.

Refworks & Other Citation Resources

Writing and Citing Resources

MLA Sample Research Paper

MLA Sample Paper from Purdue Online Writing Lab.

MLA Sample Research Paper 1 Source: Diana Hacker (Boston: Bedford/St. Martin’s, 2007). This paper has been updated to follow the style guidelines in the MLA Handbook for Writers of Research Papers, 7th ed. (2009).

MLA Sample Research Paper 2 (with Illustration) Source: Diana Hacker (Boston: Bedford/St. Martin’s, 2006). This paper has been updated to follow the style guidelines in the MLA Handbook for Writers of Research Papers, 7th ed. (2009).

MLA Sample Research Paper 3 - Source: Diana Hacker (Boston: Bedford/St. Martin’s, 2006). This paper has been updated to follow the style guidelines in the MLA Handbook for Writers of Research Papers, 7th ed. (2009).

MLA Argumentative Paper

MLA Sample Argumentative Paper 1 - Source: Diana Hacker (Boston: Bedford/St. Martin’s, 2007). - This paper has been updated to follow the style guidelines in the MLA Handbook for Writers of Research Papers, 7th ed. (2009).

MLA Sample Argumentative Paper 2 - Source: Diana Hacker (Boston: Bedford/St. Martin’s, 2006). This paper has been updated to follow the style guidelines in the MLA Handbook for Writers of Research Papers, 7th ed. (2009).

MLA Sample Argumentative Paper 3 - Source: Diana Hacker (Boston: Bedford/St. Martin’s, 2004). - This paper has been updated to follow the style guidelines in the MLA Handbook for Writers of Research Papers, 7th ed. (2009).

MLA Sample Argumentative Paper 4 - Source: Diana Hacker (Boston: Bedford/St. Martin’s, 2010). - This paper has been updated to follow the style guidelines in the MLA Handbook for Writers of Research Papers, 7th ed. (2009).

MLA Sample Argumentative Paper 5 - Source: Diana Hacker (Boston: Bedford/St. Martin’s, 2006). - This paper has been updated to follow the style guidelines in the MLA Handbook for Writers of Research Papers, 7th ed. (2009).

MLA Sample Argumentative Paper 6 - Source: Diana Hacker (Boston: Bedford/St. Martin’s, 2010, 2007).
This paper has been updated to follow the style guidelines in the MLA Handbook for Writers of Research Papers, 7th ed. (2009).

MLA Literature Paper

MLA Sample Literature Paper - Source: Diana Hacker (Boston: Bedford/St. Martin’s, 2007).
This paper has been updated to follow the style guidelines in the MLA Handbook for Writers of Research Papers, 7th ed. (2009).

MLA Sample Literature Paper With Secondary Sources - Source: Diana Hacker (Boston: Bedford/St. Martin’s, 2007).
This paper has been updated to follow the style guidelines in the MLA Handbook for Writers of Research Papers, 7th ed. (2009).

MLA Analysis Paper

MLA Sample Analysis (rhetorical) Paper 1 - Source: Diana Hacker (Boston: Bedford/St. Martin’s, 2007).
This paper has been updated to follow the style guidelines in the MLA Handbook for Writers of Research Papers, 7th ed. (2009).

MLA Sample Analysis (rhetorical) Paper 2 - Source: Diana Hacker (Boston: Bedford/St. Martin’s, 2006).
This paper has been updated to follow the style guidelines in the MLA Handbook for Writers of Research Papers, 7th ed. (2009).

MLA Sample Analysis (rhetorical) Paper 3 - Source: Diana Hacker (Boston: Bedford/St. Martin’s, 2006).
This paper has been updated to follow the style guidelines in the MLA Handbook for Writers of Research Papers, 7th ed. (2009).

MLA Review Paper

MLA Sample Review Paper - Source: Hacker Handbooks (Boston: Bedford/St. Martin’s, 2011).
This paper follows the style guidelines in the MLA Handbook for Writers of Research Papers, 7th ed. (2009).

MLA Literature Paper

MLA Sample Literature Paper - Source: Diana Hacker (Boston: Bedford/St. Martin’s, 2007).
This paper has been updated to follow the style guidelines in the MLA Handbook for Writers of Research Papers, 7th ed. (2009).

MLA Sample Literature Paper With Secondary Sources - Source: Diana Hacker (Boston: Bedford/St. Martin’s, 2007).
This paper has been updated to follow the style guidelines in the MLA Handbook for Writers of Research Papers, 7th ed. (2009).

Annotated Bibliography

  • Annotation examples - Examples for Informative/Descriptive Annotation and Critical Annotation.

APA Resource

  • APA Style Tutorial - Pay attention to slides 13-16 which are specific to in-text citations and slides 17-25 for the reference list
  • Diana Hacker's Guide for APA - Diana Hacker's guide provides information and examples on in-text citations, reference lists, and includes an annotated sample paper.