It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
FIRST YEAR SEMINAR RESOURCES: Home
These are resources that will support first year experience here at Bronx Community College.
Whether you are enrolled in an FYS class or just looking for information for a research project, you’ve come to the right place. Most of the resources in this Libguide are for freshman students and are developed to support you academically throughout your first year of college and beyond.
Many of your professors are going to ask you to come to the library to locate resources for a research paper, a speech, or some assignment that requires research; most of what you will need to complete these projects can be found here. This Libguide contains print and electronic resources that can help you with everything from writing, to time management, to just being organized. We are here to help you. If you would like to meet with me for a one-on-one consultation, please do not hesitate to contact me by email at firstname.lastname@example.org or by phone at (718)289-5100 x3568. I look forward to working with all of you. Welcome to Bronx Community College. :-)
Bronx Community College Writing Center Mission Statement
Our mission is to empower students by providing quality collaborative tutoring, fundamental to Writing Center Theory and Practice, in a nonjudgmental space, from which they can leave with greater confidence as writers, having learned something new, having realized the value of their ideas and life experiences, and having found their voice.
The Online Writing Lab (OWL) at Purdue University houses writing resources and instructional material, and we provide these as a free service of the Writing Lab at Purdue. Students, members of the community, and users worldwide will find information to assist with many writing projects. Teachers and trainers may use this material for in-class and out-of-class instruction.
The library provides you with access to RefWorks, a citation management software program designed to assist you with managing citations, creating bibliographies and citing sources in your papers. Once you create your account, you will be able to access your citations both on and off campus. In most cases, you will be able to download articles with citations directly from library databases and citations from the library catalog, CUNY+ or Onesearch.
The premier source for peer-reviewed, full-text articles from the world's leading journals and reference sources. Extensive coverage of the sciences, technology, medicine, the arts, theology, literature and other subjects - authoritative and comprehensive.
A research environment that integrates formerly disparate Gale digital collections; search Gale Virtual Reference Library, Literature Resource Center, Modern Language Association (MLA) International Bibliography and Twayne's Authors Series simultaneously.
Provides award winning in-depth coverage of the most important issues of the day. Our reports are written by experienced journalists, footnoted and professionally fact-checked. Full-length articles include an overview, historical background, chronology, pro/con feature, plus resources for additional research
Provides critical overviews of the most-studied plays of all time periods, nations, and cultures. Includes discussions of themes, characters, critical reception, dramatic devices and traditions as well as cultural and historical context
Contains full-text articles appearing in numerous U.S. racial and ethnic minority newspapers, consumer magazines, and some journals published since 1990, focusing on African American, American Indian, Asian American, and U.S. Latino publications.
Provides profiles of nearly 3,400 jobs and 94 industries, invaluable advice on career skills, thousands of resource entries, and more! Includes job and internships postings; career interest assessment; scholarship information
Provides contextual information and opinions on social issues. Features updated viewpoints, topic overviews, full-text magazine, journal and news articles, primary sources, statistics, images, videos, audio files and links to vetted websites.
Provides critical overviews of short stories from all cultures and time periods. Includes discussions of plot, characters, themes and structure as well as the story's cultural and historical significance.
Includes collections on the transatlantic slave trade, the global movement for the abolition of slavery, the legal, personal, and economic aspects of the slavery system, and the dynamics of emancipation in the U.S. as well as in Latin America, the Caribbean, and other regions
World Book is a powerful reference tool that includes an online encyclopedia, multimedia, and primary source databases, fully integrated in a single search. Access to over 600 global newspapers; access to thousands of government websites.
Reference & Instruction Librarian - First Year Seminar Liaison