Research Assignment:
The assignment must include:
I. Individual Cultural Background and Legend or Folktale
II. Power Point Presentation
ELECTRONIC BOOKS ON CONTRIES, CULTURE AND GEOGRAPHY
Aveni, Anthony F. The Book of the Year a Brief History of Our Seasonal Holidays . Oxford University Press, 2003.
Chu, Patricia P. Where I Have Never Been : Migration, Melancholia, and Memory in Asian American Narratives of Return . Temple University Press, 2019.
Conway, Christopher B. Nineteenth-Century Spanish America A Cultural History . Vanderbilt University Press, 2015.
Cline-Cole, R. A., and Elsbeth Robson. West African Worlds : Paths through Socio-Economic Change, Livelihoods, and Development . Routledge, Taylor & Francis Group, 2014.
Dekaney, Elisa Macedo, and Deborah Alane Cunningham. Travel on and on Interdisciplinary Lessons on the Music of World Cultures . Lanham, MD: Rowman & Littlefield Education, 2010. Print.
Dominican Republic Society & Culture . 2nd ed., World Trade Press.
Dowley, Tim, and Christopher H. Partridge. Atlas of World Religions. New edition / Tim Dowley, Christopher Partridge., Lion Scholar, 2018.
Ember, Carol R., and Melvin. Ember. Encyclopedia of Sex and Gender Men and Women in the World’s Cultures . 1st ed. 2004., Kluwer Academic/Plenum Publishers, 2003, doi:10.1007/0-387-29907-6.
Ember, Carol R., et al. Encyclopedia of World Cultures. Supplement. Gale Group/Thomson Learning, 2002.
Gall, Susan B., and Timothy L. Gall. Junior Worldmark Encyclopedia of World Cultures. UXL Imprint, 2011.
Geography of the World. Dorling Kindersley, 2009.
Griffin, Robert H., and Ann H. Shurgin. Junior Worldmark Encyclopedia of World Holidays. UXL Imprint, 2000.
Korkut, Umut, et al. The Aesthetics of Global Protest Visual Culture and Communication . Project Muse, 2020, doi:10.5117/9789463724913.
Laudan, Rachel. Cuisine and Empire : Cooking in World History . University of California Press, 2013.
Leonard, Thomas M. Encyclopedia of Modern Latin America (1900 to the Present) . [Enhanced Credo edition], Facts On File, 2017.
Nigeria Society & Culture . 2nd ed., World Trade Press.
Nixon, Angelique V. Resisting Paradise Tourism, Diaspora, and Sexuality in Caribbean Culture . University Press of Mississippi, 2015.
Njoku, Raphael Chijioke. West African Masking Traditions and Diaspora Masquerade Carnivals History, Memory, and Transnationalism . University of Rochester Press, 2020.
Norton, Clark., and Clark Norton. Adventure Guide to the Dominican Republic. 4th ed., Hunter Publishing, 2005.
Orlando, Valérie, and Sandra Messinger Cypess. Reimagining the Caribbean : Conversations Among the Creole, English, French, and Spanish Caribbean . Lexington Books, 2014.
Rodríguez O., Jaime E. Political Culture in Spanish America, 1500–1830. University of Nebraska Press, 2018.
Riggs, Thomas. “St. James Encyclopedia of Hip Hop Culture.” St. James Encyclopedia of Hip Hop Culture, Cengage Gale, 2018.
Salm, Steven J., and Toyin. Falola. Culture and Customs of Ghana . Greenwood Press, 2002.
Samuels, Wilfred D. Encyclopedia of African-American Literature . Second edition., Facts on File, 2013.
Swanson, Philip. The Companion to Latin American Studies. Taylor and Francis, 2014.
Putzi-Ortiz, Sibylla. A to Z World Food & Recipes 175 Countries - Appetizers, Soups, Salads, Main Dishes, Side Dishes, Desserts, Beverages and Holiday Favorites. World Trade Press, 2008.
ELECTRONIC BOOKS ON FOLKTALES AND FOLKLORE
Andersen, H. C. (Hans Christian), et al. Tales and Stories by Hans Christian Andersen. University of Washington Press, 1980.
Bronner, Simon. Following Tradition : Folklore in the Discourse of American Culture . Utah State University Press, 1998.
De Caro, F. A. Folklore Recycled Old Traditions in New Contexts . University Press of Mississippi, 2013.
Donovan, Pamela. No Way of Knowing Crime, Urban Legends, and the Internet . Routledge, 2004.
Dundes, Alan, and Simon J. Bronner. Meaning of Folklore : the Analytical Essays of Alan Dundes . Utah State University Press, 2007.
Green, Thomas A. The Greenwood Library of World Folktales Stories from the Great Collections . Greenwood Press, 2008.
Lee, Jonathan H. X., and Kathleen M. Nadeau. Encyclopedia of Asian American Folklore and Folklife . ABC-CLIO, 2011.
McCormick, Charlie T., and Kim Kennedy. White. Folklore an Encyclopedia of Beliefs, Customs, Tales, Music, and Art . 2nd ed., ABC-CLIO, 2010.
Peek, Philip M., and Kwesi. Yankah. African Folklore an Encyclopedia . Routledge, 2004.
Putzi-Ortiz, Sibylla. A to Z World Superstitions and Folklore 175 Countries : Spirit Worship, Curses, Mystical Characters, Folk Tales, Burial and the Dead, Animals, Food, Marriage, Good Luck, Bad Luck, Totems and Amulets and Ancestor Spirits . World Trade Press, 2009.
Research Databases
Covering today's most important issues and controversial subjects, CQ Researcher has been the choice of students and librarians for over 80 years. Each weekly issue—written by an experienced CQ Press reporter—is an in-depth, single topic report featuring more than 12,000 words of text and extensive bibliographies.
Encyclopedias, dictionaries, thesauri and books of quotations, and a range of subject-specific titles covering everything from art to accountancy and literature to law.
(Academic Search Premier, Business Source Premier, Communication & Mass Media Complete, Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition, PsycARTICLES, SocINDEX with Full Text, and others.) EBSCOhost is a powerful online reference system accessible via the Internet. It offers a variety of proprietary full-text databases and popular databases from leading information providers. The comprehensive databases range from general reference collections to specially designed, subject-specific databases for public, academic, medical, corporate and school libraries.
Contains full-text articles appearing in numerous U.S. racial and ethnic minority newspapers, consumer magazines, and some journals published since 1990, focusing on African American, American Indian, Asian American, and U.S. Latino publications.
More than 12,000 eBooks from over 100 industry-leading publishers, references and monographs covering literature, science, history, science and technology and more,
International viewpoints on a broad spectrum of global issues, topics, and current events. Featured are hundreds of continuously updated issue and country portals that bring together a variety of specially selected, highly relevant sources for analysis of social, political, military, economic, environmental, health, and cultural issues. Rich multimedia - including podcasts, video, and interactive graphs - enhance each portal.
CUNY EDGE SUPPLEMENTAL RESEARCH GUIDE - COLLEGE AND WORKPLACE READINESS
BCC LIBRARY - CUNY EDGE SUPPLEMENTAL RESEARCH GUIDE
COLLEGE AND CAREER READINESS – ELECTRONIC BOOKS
Amos, Julie-Ann. Be Prepared! Getting Ready for Job Interviews . How To Books, 2001.
Bain, Ken. What the Best College Students Do . Harvard University Press,, 2012, doi:10.4159/harvard.9780674067479.
Beshara, Tony. The Job Search Solution the Ultimate System for Finding a Great Job Now! . 2nd ed., AMACOM, 2012.
Cohen, Harlan. The Naked Roommate : and 107 Other Issues You Might Run into in College . Seventh edition., Sourcebooks, Inc., 2017.
College Completion for Latino/a Students : Institutional and System Approaches . Jossey-Bass, 2015.
Dembo, Myron H., and Helena. Seli. Motivation and Learning Strategies for College Success a Focus on Self-Regulated Learning . 4th ed., Routledge, 2013.
DiRamio, David C. What’s Next for Student Veterans? : Moving from Transition to Academic Success . National Resource Center for The First-Year Experience and Students in Transition, University of South Carolina, 2017.
Ericsson, K. Anders, et al. The Cambridge Handbook of Expertise and Expert Performance . Second edition., Cambridge University Press, 2018.
Falconer, Melanie. College Study Hacks : 101 Ways to Study Easier and Faster . Atlantic Publishing Group, Inc., 2017.
Frender, Gloria, and Marta Drayton. Learning to Learn : Strengthening Study Skills and Brain Power . 3rd ed., Incentive Publications, 2014.
Fry, Ronald W. 101 Smart Questions to Ask on Your Interview . Fourth edition., Open Road Integrated Media, 2016.
Gauld, Malcolm. College Success Guaranteed 5 Rules to Make It Happen . Rowman & Littlefield Education, 2011.
Goldsmith, Dale. Growing in Wisdom : Called to the Adventure of College . Cascade Books, 2014.
Greene, Ida. Soft Power Negotiation Skills. P.S.I. Publishers, 2004.
Jayaprakash, Sajitha. Interview Skills Presenting Yourself with Confidence . 1st ed., Himalaya Pub. House, 2010.
Kelley, Katie C. Career Courage : Discover Your Passion, Step Out of Your Comfort Zone, and Create the Success You Want . American Management Association, 2017.
Kennedy, Joyce Lain. Job Interviews for Dummies. 4th ed., John Wiley & Sons, Inc., 2012.
Lindberg, Misa. Studying, Tips, Tricks & Hacks : Harness the Power of Routine, Build Self-Discipline, and Develop Time Management Skills . BarCharts, Inc., 2017.
MacDonald, Don. 21st Century Skills for Non-Profit Managers : a Practical Guide on Leadership and Management . First edition., Business Expert Press, 2018.
McNair, Tia Brown. Becoming a Student-Ready College : a New Culture of Leadership for Student Success . Jossey-Bass, 2016.
Moore, Sarah., et al. The Ultimate Study Skills Handbook. Open University Press, 2010.
Morgan, Genevieve. Undecided : Navigating Life and Learning after High School . Zest Books, 2014.
Phillips, Brad C., and Jordan Horowitz. College Completion Agenda : Practical Approaches for Reaching the Big Goal . Jossey-Bass, 2014.
Talbot, Christine. Studying at a Distance a Guide for Students . 3rd ed., Open University Press, 2010.
Waldman, Joshua. Job Searching with Social Media for Dummies . 2nd ed., John Wiley & Sons, 2013.
Walsh, Frank, and Chris. Reisig. The Regis Study Skills Guide. 5th ed., International Debate Education Association, 2008.
Yate, Martin. Knock ’Em Dead Secrets and Strategies for First-Time Job Seekers. Jumpingdude Media, 2014.
COLLEGE WRITING – ELECTRONIC BOOKS
100 Words Almost Everyone Confuses and Misuses. Houghton Mifflin Harcourt, 2016.
Akbari, Suzanne Conklin. How We Write: Thirteen Ways of Looking at a Blank Page. Project Muse, 2021.
The American Heritage Guide to Contemporary Usage and Style. Houghton Mifflin, 2005.
Fabb, Nigel, and Alan Durant. How to Write Essays and Dissertations : a Guide for English Literature Students . 2nd ed., Routledge, 2014.
Hamilton, Carole L. Anthem Guide to Essay Writing. Anthem Press, 2011.
Hult, Christine A. The Handy English Grammar Answer Book . [Enhanced Credo edition], Visible Ink, 2016.
Kiesling, Angela. The Se7en Deadly Sins of Writing : Common Pitfalls of Prose -- and How to Avoid Them . Morgan James Publishing, 2018.
McQuade, Molly. One Word Contemporary Writers on the Words They Love or Loathe . 1st ed., Sarabande Books, 2010.
Mligo, Elia Shabani. Writing Effective Course Assignments : a Guide to Non-Degree and Undergraduate Students . Resource Publications, 2017.
Palmer, Richard. Write in Style a Guide to Good English . 2nd ed., RoutledgeFalmer, 2002.
Petelin, Roslyn. How Writing Works : a Field Guide to Effective Writing . Allen & Unwin, 2016.
Peters, Pam. The Cambridge Guide to English Usage. Cambridge University Press, 2004.
Proudfit, Benjamin. Writing Opinion Papers . First edition., Gareth Stevens Publishing, 2015.
Proudfit, Benjamin. Writing Research Papers . First edition., Gareth Stevens Publishing, 2015.
Rienecker, Lotte, et al. The Good Paper : a Handbook for Writing Papers in Higher Education . First printed edition., Samfundslitteratur, 2015.
Roy, Jennifer Rozines, and Johannah Haney. Sharpen Your Essay Writing Skills . Enslow Publishers, Inc., 2012.
Scerbo, Lauren. Writing Tips & Tricks . BarCharts, Inc., 2012.
Strongman, Luke. Academic Writing . Cambridge Scholars Publishing, 2013.
Wallwork, Adrian. English for Writing Research Papers. 1st ed. 2011., Springer US, 2011, doi:10.1007/978-1-4419-7922-3.
BCC LIBRARY RECOMMENDED RESEARCH DATABASES
Covering today's most important issues and controversial subjects, CQ Researcher has been the choice of students and librarians for over 80 years. Each weekly issue—written by an experienced CQ Press reporter—is an in-depth, single topic report featuring more than 12,000 words of text and extensive bibliographies.
Encyclopedias, dictionaries, thesauri and books of quotations, and a range of subject-specific titles covering everything from art to accountancy and literature to law.
(Academic Search Premier, Business Source Premier, Communication & Mass Media Complete, Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition, PsycARTICLES, SocINDEX with Full Text, and others.) EBSCOhost is a powerful online reference system accessible via the Internet. It offers a variety of proprietary full-text databases and popular databases from leading information providers. The comprehensive databases range from general reference collections to specially designed, subject-specific databases for public, academic, medical, corporate and school libraries.
Ferguson's Career Guidance Center (Infobase)
Provides profiles of nearly 3,400 jobs and 94 industries, invaluable advice on career skills, thousands of resource entries, and more! Includes job and internships postings; career interest assessment; scholarship information
More than 12,000 eBooks from over 100 industry-leading publishers, references and monographs covering literature, science, history, science and technology and more.
Interactive online learning platform of practice tests and tutorial course series designed to help patrons, students, and adult learners succeed on the academic or licensing tests they must pass.
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
WOMEN'S HISTORY - ELECTRONIC BOOKS
Annotated Bibliography
1. Choose between 5 to 8 sources (at least 5) that you will use for your project. They should include:
a. At least one primary source (source created at the time or by a participant. Can be an image)
b. One source from a peer-reviewed journal
The additional three sources are up to you.
Final Project: Monument to Women’s History
Description: What monument to women’s history would you design? For this project, you will choose one event, person, or movement, research it, and design a monument. You will also write a 3 to (5) page paper on your monument.
Electronic Books
Appleby, Joyce Oldham, et al. Encyclopedia of Women in American History . Routledge, 2015.
Backscheider, Paula R. “Eighteenth-Century Women Poets and Their Poetry : Inventing Agency, Inventing Genre.” Eighteenth-century women Poets and Their Poetry : Inventing Agency, Inventing Genre, Johns Hopkins University Press, 2008.
Bergoffen, Debra B. Confronting Global Gender Justice Women’s Lives, Human Rights . Routledge, 2011.
Bouta, Tsjeard, et al. “Gender, Conflict, and Development.” Gender, Conflict, and Development, World Bank Publications, 2004, doi:10.1596/0-8213-5968-1.
BRIAN DONOVAN. “Suffrage and Slavery: The Racial Politics of the Woman’s Christian Temperance Union Purity Campaign.” White Slave Crusades, University of Illinois Press, 2005, p. 37–, doi:10.5406/j.ctt1xcmjv.7.
Carol Faulkner. “Lucretia Mott’s Heresy: Abolition and Women’s Rights in Nineteenth-Century America.” Lucretia Mott’s Heresy, University of Pennsylvania Press, Inc, 2011.
Cott, Nancy F. History of Women in the United States : Historical Articles on Women’s Lives and Activities. Volume 12, Education . Reprint 2012, K. G. Saur,, 2012, doi:10.1515/9783110978933.
Cullen-DuPont, Kathryn. The Encyclopedia of Women’s History in America . Facts on File, 1996.
Dagmar Reese. “Growing up Female in Nazi Germany.” Growing up Female in Nazi Germany, University of Michigan Press, 2010, doi:10.3998/mpub.178635.
Dhruvarajan, Vanaja, and Jill Vickers. Gender, Race, and Nation : A Global Perspective . University of Toronto Press,, 2016, doi:10.3138/9781442675193.
Engdahl, Sylvia. The Women’s Liberation Movement . First edition., Greenhaven Press, a Part of Gale, Cengage Learning, 2012.
Eschle, Catherine. Global Democracy, Social Movements, and Feminism . Routledge, 2018.
Felder, Deborah G. The American Women’s Almanac : 500 Years of Making History . Visible Ink, 2020.
Ford, Lynne E. Encyclopedia of Women and American Politics . Second editon., Facts On File, 2014.
Fredericks, Carrie. “Amendment XIX: Granting Women the Right to Vote.” Amendment XIX, Greenhaven Publishing LLC, 2009.
Givens, Sonja M. Brown, et al. Underserved Women of Color, Voice, and Resistance : Claiming a Seat at the Table . Lexington Books, 2014.
Gluck, Sherna Berger. From Parlor to Prison : Five American Suffragists Talk About Their Lives . First edition., Vintage Books, 1977.
Greenspan, Karen. The Timetables of Women’s History : a Chronology of the Most Important People and Events in Women’s History . Simon & Schuster, 1994.
Hagemann, K., et al. “Gender, War and Politics: Transatlantic Perspectives, 1775-1830.” Gender, War and Politics, Palgrave Macmillan UK, 2010, doi:10.1057/9780230283046.
Hekma, Gert., and Alain. Giami. Sexual Revolutions. Palgrave Macmillan UK, 2014, doi:10.1057/9781137321466.
Ilic, Melanie. “Women and Stalinism.” Women and Stalinism, Palgrave Macmillan, 2001.
Issitt, Micah L. Gender : Roles & Rights . [Enhanced Credo edition], Grey House Publishing, 2018.
Janz, Oliver, and Daniel Schönpflug. Gender History in a Transnational Perspective : Biographies, Networks, Gender Orders . Berghahn Books, 2014.
Joshi, Vandana. Gender and Power in the Third Reich Female Denouncers and the Gestapo (1933–45) . Palgrave Macmillan UK, 2003, doi:10.1057/9780230511071.
Joy, Eileen A., and Katerina Kolozova. After the “Speculative Turn”: Realism, Philosophy, and Feminism. Project Muse, 2021.
Klugman, Jeni, et al. “Voice and Agency: Empowering Women and Girls for Shared Prosperity.” Voice and Agency, World Bank Group, 2014, doi:10.1596/978-1-4648-0359-8.
Laura L. Bush. “Faithful Transgressions In The American West: Six Twentieth-Century Mormon Women’s Autobiographical Acts.” Faithful Transgressions In The American West, Utah State University Press, 2004, doi:10.2307/j.ctt46nqvx.
Loveday, Veronica. Feminism & the Women’s Rights Movement. Great Neck Publishing, 2009.
McMillen, Sally G. (Sally Gregory). Southern Women : Black and White in the Old South . Third edition., Wiley Blackwell, 2018.
Magarey, Susan. “Dangerous Ideas: Women’s Liberation, Women’s Studies, Around the World.” Dangerous Ideas, University of Adelaide Press, 2015, doi:10.20851/j.ctt1t305d7.
Martinez, Donna. American Women Leaders and Activists . Second edition., Facts On File, 2016.
Matthaei, Julie A. An Economic History of Women in America : Women’s Work, the Sexual Division of Labor, and the Development of Capitalism . Schocken Books, 1982.
Milkman, Ruth. “Women, Work, and Protest: A Century of U. S. Women’s Labor History.” Women, Work, and Protest, Taylor & Francis Group, 2012.
Miller, Randall M., and Judith Ann Giesberg. Women and the American Civil War North-South Counterpoints . The Kent State University Press, 2018.
Moore, Shannon Baker, and Jacqueline Luedtke. Women with Wings : Women Pilots of World War II . Essential Library, an imprint of Adbo Publishing, 2017.
Muehlenbeck, Philip E. Gender, Sexuality, and the Cold War : a Global Perspective . Vanderbilt University Press, 2018.
Nazneen, Sohela, et al. “Negotiating Gender Equity in the Global South.” Negotiating Gender Equity in the Global South, Taylor & Francis, 2019.
Page, Max, and Ilan Stavans. “Memories of Buenos Aires: Signs of State Terrorism in Argentina.” Memories of Buenos Aires, University of Massachusetts Press, 2013.
Prescott, Cynthia Culver. Pioneer Mother Monuments : Constructing Cultural Memory . University of Oklahoma Press, 2019.
Roberts, Cokie. Founding Mothers : the Women Who Raised Our Nation . First edition., William Morrow, 2005.
Sierra, M., and C. Román-Odio. Transnational Borderlands in Women’s Global Networks The Making of Cultural Resistance . 1st ed., Palgrave Macmillan US, 2011, doi:10.1057/9780230119475.
Simonton, Deborah. A History of European Women’s Work 1700 to the Present . Routledge, 1998.
Simpson, John, and Jana. Bennett. The Disappeared and the Mothers of the Plaza : the Story of the 11,000 Argentinians Who Vanished . St. Martin’s Press, 1985.
Stephenson, Jill. Women in Nazi Society. Routledge, 2013.
Strong, Shari MacDonald. The Maternal Is Political Women Writers at the Intersection of Motherhood and Social Change . Seal Press, 2008.
Ulbrich, David, and Bobby A. Wintermute. Race and Gender in Modern Western Warfare . De Gruyter Oldenbourg,, 2018, doi:10.1515/9783110477467.
Vare, Ethlie Ann, and Greg Ptacek. Women Inventors & Their Discoveries. Oliver Press, 1993.
West, Guida., and Rhoda Lois. Blumberg. Women and Social Protest. Oxford University Press, 1991.
WOMEN’S RIGHT TO VOTE: The 19th Amendment (1920). 2018.
Research Assignment 3
BCC Database Assignment
Directions: Please take notes on the following points during our introductory Library Information Session. When you are ready to it write up, set up your document in MLA style; center the title: Research Assignment 3—Data Base Assignment; label each of the two parts; and number the questions. Please compose complete sentences, using the prompt as a “stem” to begin your response. Edit your responses for clarity and mechanics (punctuation, capitalization, grammar) and then submit your assignment under the Submit Assignments Here tab of our Blackboard site’s drop down menu.
Part I—BCC Library Information Session
Part II—Exploring the BCC Library Data Bases
This is a preliminary exercise to help you search for information for your research papers using BCC’s library databases. Consider broadly the topics we are covering in our texts: education; civil rights; civil disobedience; wellness; vocation; environmental activism and conservation; human rights; and the transformative power of music, in particular the spirituals or sorrow songs (which we’ll get to when we cover the work of Joe Carter).
Education
Britannica Concise Encyclopedia. [Enhanced Credo edition], Encyclopaedia Britannica, 2017.
Gonzalez, Josue M. Encyclopedia of Bilingual Education. SAGE, 2008.
Guthrie, James W. Encyclopedia of Education. Second edition., Macmillan Reference USA, 2003.
Howard, Caroline. Encyclopedia of Distance Learning. Idea Group Reference, 2005.
Kridel, Craig Alan. Encyclopedia of Curriculum Studies . SAGE, 2010.
Mertens, Steven B., et al. The Encyclopedia of Middle Grades Education . Second edition., Information Age Publishing, Inc., 2016.
Peters, Michael A. Encyclopedia of Educational Philosophy and Theory. 1st ed. 2017., Springer Singapore, 2017, doi:10.1007/978-981-287-588-4.
Reynolds, Cecil R., et al. Encyclopedia of Special Education : a Reference for the Education of Children, Adolescents, and Adults with Disabilities and Other Exceptional Individuals . Fourth edition., Wiley, 2014.
Sacks, Arlene. Special Education : a Reference Book for Policy and Curriculum Development . Third edition., Grey House Publishing, 2018.
Williams, Leslie R., and Doris Pronin Fromberg. Encyclopedia of Early Childhood Education. Routledge, 2013.
Environmental conservation
Becher, Anne, and Joseph Richey. American Environmental Leaders : from Colonial Times to the Present . Third edition., Grey House Publishing, Inc., 2018.
Inc., Encyclopaedia Britannica., and inc Encyclopaedia Britannica. Earth’s Changing Environment. 2nd ed., Encyclopaedia Britannica, Inc., 2010.
Lindstrom, Matthew J., and Matthew J. Lindstrom. “Encyclopedia of the U.S. Government and the Environment: History, Policy, and Politics.” Encyclopedia of the U.S. Government and the Environment, ABC-CLIO, LLC, 2010.
Montrie, Chad. A People’s History of Environmentalism in the United States. Continuum, 2011.
Northcott, Michael S. A Moral Climate : the Ethics of Global Warming . Darton, Longman & Todd, 2007.
Nriagu, Jerome O. Encyclopedia of Environmental Health. Elsevier Science, 2011.
Sandler, Ronald D., and Phaedra C. Pezzullo. Environmental Justice and Environmentalism : the Social Justice Challenge to the Environmental Movement . MIT Press, 2007.
Civil rights and Civil Disobedience
Fishkin, Shelley Fisher, and David Bradley. The Encyclopedia of Civil Rights in America. Sharpe Reference, 1998.
Issues and Controversies : Overviews and Pro/con Arguments . [Enhanced Credo edition], Facts On File, 2019.
Lowes, David E. The Anti-Capitalist Dictionary Movements, Histories & Motivations . Fernwood, 2006.
Nepstad, Sharon Erickson., and Lester R. Kurtz. Nonviolent Conflict and Civil Resistance. Emerald Group Publishing, 2012.
Regis, Frankye V. A Voice from the Civil Rights Era. Greenwood Press, 2004.
Weldon, Laurel. “When Protest Makes Policy: How Social Movements Represent Disadvantaged Groups.” When protest Makes Policy, University of Michigan Press, 2011, doi:10.3998/mpub.1285595.
Transformative power of music
Christina Zanfagna. “Holy Hip Hop in the City of Angels.” Holy Hip Hop in the City of Angels, 1st ed., University of California Press, 2017, doi:10.1525/j.ctt1w8h1sj.
David Spener. “We Shall Not Be Moved/No Nos Moverán: Biography of a Song of Struggle.” We Shall Not Be Moved/No Nos Moverán, Temple University Press, 2016.
Friedman, Jonathan C. The Routledge History of Social Protest in Popular Music. Routledge, 2013.
Nadya Zimmerman. “Counterculture Kaleidoscope: Musical and Cultural Perspectives on Late Sixties San Francisco.” Counterculture Kaleidoscope, University of Michigan Press, 2010, doi:10.3998/mpub.192464.
Nwankwo, Ifeoma C., and Mamadou Diouf. “Rhythms of the Afro-Atlantic World: Rituals and Remembrances.” Rhythms of the Afro-Atlantic World, University of Michigan Press, 2010.
Pedelty, Mark, and Kristine Weglarz. Political Rock . Routledge, 2016.
Roy, William G. Reds, Whites, and Blues : Social Movements, Folk Music, and Race in the United States . Course Book, Princeton University Press,, 2010, doi:10.1515/9781400835164.
Sheila Whiteley, and Jedediah Sklower. “Countercultures and Popular Music.” Countercultures and Popular Music, Taylor and Francis, 2016, doi:10.4324/9781315574479.
Whiteley, Sheila, and Jedediah Sklower. “Countercultures and Popular Music.” Countercultures and Popular Music, Routledge, 2014, p. 316–, doi:10.4324/9781315574479.
Self-Care
Gold, Mark S., and Christine A. Adamec. The Encyclopedia of Depression . Second edition., Facts on File, 2016.
James, Delores C. S. Nutrition and Well-Being A to Z . Macmillan Reference USA, 2004.
Landis, K. J. Happy, Healthy You : Your Total Wellness Toolkit for Renewing Body, Soul, and Mind . Mango Publishing, 2017.
Longe, Jacqueline L. The Gale Encyclopedia of Fitness . 1st edition., Gale, Cengage Learning, 2012.
Marinella, Sandra, and Christina Baldwin. The Story You Need to Tell : Writing to Heal from Trauma, Illness, or Loss . New World Library, 2017.
Parente, M. (Matilde). Healing Ways : an Integrative Health Sourcebook . [Enhanced Credo edition], Barron’s Educational Series, Inc., 2016.
Roberts, Laura Weiss. Student Mental Health : a Guide for Psychiatrists, Psychologists, and Leaders Serving in Higher Education . First edition., American Psychiatric Association Publishing, 2018.
Rothfeld, Glenn S., and Deb Baker. The Encyclopedia of Men’s Health . Second edition., Facts on File, 2017.
Vickery, Gus. Authentic Health : the Definitive Guide to Losing Weight, Feeling Better, Mastering Stress, Sleeping Well Every Night, & Enjoying a Sense of Purpose . Morgan James Publishing, 2018.
Human Rights
Becker, Jo. Campaigning for Justice : Human Rights Advocacy in Practice . Stanford University Press,, 2021, doi:10.1515/9780804784382.
Condé, H. Victor, and Charles F. Gelsinger. Human Rights and the United States . Third edition., Grey House Publishing, 2019.
Finucane, Brendan. Human Rights . Mason Crest, 2017.
Genovese, Michael A., and Lori Cox. Han. Encyclopedia of American Government and Civics . Second edition., Facts on File, 2017.
Hurt, Avery Elizabeth. Student Rights . Greenhaven Publishing, 2018.
Issitt, Micah L. Gender : Roles & Rights . [Enhanced Credo edition], Grey House Publishing, 2018.
Issitt, Micah L. National Security Vs. Civil & Privacy Rights . [First edition]., Grey House Publishing, 2018.
Krumsiek, Allison. Civil Liberties : the Fight for Personal Freedom . Lucent Press, 2018.
Leiter, Richard, and Roy Mersky. Freedom of Religion . [Enhanced Credo edition], Facts On File, 2017.
Leiter, Richard, and Roy Mersky. Freedom of Speech, Assembly, and Expression . [Enhanced Credo edition], Facts On File, 2017.
Vile, John R., et al. Encyclopedia of the First Amendment. CQ Press, 2009.
Academic Writing
Akbari, Suzanne Conklin. How We Write: Thirteen Ways of Looking at a Blank Page. Project Muse, 2021.
Dragga, Sam, and Gwendolyn Gong. Editing : the Design of Rhetoric . Routledge, 2017.
Fabb, Nigel, and Alan Durant. How to Write Essays and Dissertations : a Guide for English Literature Students . 2nd ed., Routledge, 2014.
Glasman-Deal, Hilary. Science Research Writing for Non-Native Speakers of English. Imperial College Press, 2010.
Horner, Bruce. Rewriting Composition Terms of Exchange . Southern Illinois University Press, 2016.
Hult, Christine A. The Handy English Grammar Answer Book . [Enhanced Credo edition], Visible Ink, 2016.
Kiesling, Angela. The Se7en Deadly Sins of Writing : Common Pitfalls of Prose -- and How to Avoid Them . Morgan James Publishing, 2018.
Petelin, Roslyn. How Writing Works : a Field Guide to Effective Writing . Allen & Unwin, 2016.
Poel, Kris van de., et al. Text Editing : a Handbook for Students and Practitioners . University Press Antwerp, 2012.
Proudfit, Benjamin. Writing Research Papers . First edition., Gareth Stevens Publishing, 2015.
Rienecker, Lotte, et al. The Good Paper : a Handbook for Writing Papers in Higher Education . First printed edition., Samfundslitteratur, 2015.
Research Databases
Authoritative reference content alongside, videos, audio selections, images, primary sources, and magazine and journal articles from hundreds of major periodicals and newspapers.
EBSCOhost is a powerful online reference system accessible via the Internet. It offers a variety of proprietary full text databases and popular databases from leading information providers.
Provides award winning in-depth coverage of the most important issues of the day. Our reports are written by experienced journalists, footnoted and professionally fact-checked. Full-length articles include an overview, historical background, chronology, pro/con feature, plus resources for additional research.
Encyclopedias, dictionaries, thesauri and books of quotations, and a range of subject-specific titles covering everything from art to accountancy and literature to law.
More than 12,000 eBooks from over 100 industry-leading publishers, references and monographs covering literature, science, history, science and technology and more.
Infobase Learning Databases (Infobase)
Databases covering an array of materials covering historical, literary, career, social, health and scientific subjects.
Opposing Viewpoints in Context (Gale)
Provides contextual information and opinions on social issues. Features updated viewpoints, topic overviews, full-text magazine, journal and news articles, primary sources, statistics, images, videos, audio files and links to vetted websites.
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
LITERARY CRITICISM RESOURCES
LITERARY CRITICISM – ELECTRONIC BOOKS
ARONOFF, ERIC. “Composing Cultures: Modernism, American Literary Studies, and the Problem of Culture.” Composing Cultures, University of Virginia Press, 2013.
Bloom, Harold. Sherwood Anderson . Chelsea House Publishers, 2003.
Bluefarb, Sam. The Escape Motif in the American Novel : Mark Twain to Richard Wright . Ohio State University Press, 1972.
Contemporary Literary Criticism : Criticism of the Works of Today’s Novelists, Poets, Playwrights, Short Story Writers, Scriptwriters, and Other Creative Writers . Volume 329. Gale, 2013.
Gabler, Hans. “Text Genetics in Literary Modernism and Other Essays.” Text Genetics in Literary Modernism and Other Essays, 1st ed., Open Book Publishers, 2018.
Goyet, Florence. “The Classic Short Story, 1870-1925: Theory of a Genre.” The Classic Short Story, 1870- 1925, Open Book Publishers, 2014.
Headrick, Paul. The Wiley Guide to Writing Essays About Literature . Wiley Blackwell, 2015.
Hooper, Brad. Writing Reviews for Readers’ Advisory. American Library Association, 2010.
Manarin, Karen. Critical Reading in Higher Education Academic Goals and Social Engagement . Indiana University Press, 2016.
Poplawski, Paul. Encyclopedia of Literary Modernism. Greenwood Press, 2003.
Russek, Dan. “Textual Exposures.” Textual Exposures, University of Calgary Press, 2015.
Samuels, Shirley., and Shirley Samuels. A Companion to American Fiction 1780 - 1865. Wiley, 2008.
Schedler, Christopher. Border Modernism : Intercultural Readings in American Literary Modernism . Routledge, 2002.
Skidmore, Joey. The Review as Art and Communication . Cambridge Scholars Publishing, 2014.
Smith, Jennifer. “The American Short Story Cycle.” The American Short Story Cycle, Edinburgh University Press, 2017, doi:10.3366/j.ctt1tqxb3j.
Stoneley, Peter., and Cindy. Weinstein. A Concise Companion to American Fiction, 1900-1950. Blackwell Pub., 2008.