Engineering, Physics and Technology: STEM RESOURCES

"Computer Sciences is part of the well-respected Macmillan Science Library franchise. This full color four volume set is organized in 4 separate thematic volumes covering the following topics: Foundations, Ideas and People: This volume covers the innovators and history of Computer Science in both theoretical developments and practical application of the discipline. Software and Hardware: This volume covers topics from system analysis and design to operating systems and parallel processing. Social Applications: From fashion design to meteorology, this volume covers how the use of computers impacts our everyday lives. Electronic Universe: This volume delves into the internet and the interconnected, networked society. Also discussed in this volume are artificial intelligence, encryption, and mobile computing "

Includes 7,000 articles covering various disciplines of science and technology. This volume includes entries in areas such as biotechnology, chemistry, cosmology, environ-mental science and technology, computing and information technology, cell and molecular biology, nanotechnology, telecommunications, and theoretical physics and applied physics.

Geographic information science (GIS) is an emerging field that combines aspects of many different disciplines. As a result, GIS literature is spread widely across the academic spectrum and the vocabulary is an amalgam of all of these fields. Often, given the specialized disciplinary orientations of authors, some expectation of foundational knowledge is assumed in much of the literature, making it difficult for readers from different disciplines to understand the full context of what they are reading. The Encyclopedia of Geographical Information Science provides a condensed but rich resource about themes broadly across the field. It also provides details about the key foundations of GIS, no matter what their disciplinary origins, and is, therefore, an important resource for both academic and corporate libraries. Key Themes: - Conceptual Foundations - Cartography and visualisation - Design aspects - Data modeling - Data manipulation - Geocomputation - Geospatial data - Societorial Issues - Spatial analysis - Organizational and institutional aspects