Research Guides: Physical Education: Databases

Helpful Hints

Databases, which your library pays a subscription fee, gives you access to periodical (academic, peer-reviewed, scholarly, journal, newspaper and magazine) articles, e-books, and streaming videos on a variety of topics. Although most databases provide access to full text articles, there are instances where only the citation and /or abstract to an article is provided. Databases can be multidisciplinary or subject specific. Most Library databases can be accessed anytime day or night via off-campus access.

Need More Help?

Ask-A-Librarian

Reference Desk 718-289-5974

Subject specific Databases

Below are some recommended health databases that are available through your Bronx Community College Library.

CINAHL Complete (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
This is a research tool for nursing and allied health professionals. With CINAHL Complete users get access to top nursing and allied health journals, evidence-based care sheets and quick lessons. CINAHL Complete provides information for: More than 50 nursing specialties such as speech language pathology, nutrition, and general health and medicine.
Gale Onefile Health and Medicine This link opens in a new window
Provides access to medical and professional periodicals, health and fitness magazines, and reference books and pamphlets. The database is designed for both nursing and allied health students as well as consumer health researchers. The material contained in this database is intended for informational purposes only.
PubMed (US National Library of Medicine/National Institutes of Health) This link opens in a new window
PubMed comprises more than 23 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites.
Physical Therapy and Sports Medicine (Gale) This link opens in a new window

Interdisciplinary Databases

Academic Search Complete (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
Searching for full text articles across disciplines
CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window
Provides award winning in-depth coverage of the most important issues of the day. Our reports are written by experienced journalists, footnoted and professionally fact-checked. Full-length articles include an overview, historical background, chronology, pro/con feature, plus resources for additional research
Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
Encyclopedias, dictionaries, thesauri and books of quotations, and a range of subject-specific titles covering everything from art to accountancy and literature to law.
Gale eBooks - (Gale) This link opens in a new window
More than 12,000 eBooks from over 100 industry-leading publishers, references and monographs covering literature, science, history, science and technology and more,
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Full-text article collections from leading journals. Includes Arts & Sciences I, General Science, Ecology & Botany, Business. Language & literature, and the Arts & Science II Collection.

Physical Education: Databases

Helpful Hints

Need More Help?

Subject specific Databases

Interdisciplinary Databases

Off-Campus Access