Skip to Main Content

Picking Your Topic IS part of the Research Process: Databases

Picking Your Topic IS part of the Research Process

Library's Databases

Library’s Databases are like Google or other search engines but instead it searches journals, magazines, newspapers and other sources. Most research papers will require you to utilize a database from the list of databases BCC Library has to offer. You can search topics and subjects, but refrain from trying to search a question, you will receive very little, if any results. The databases are like Google, but it is NOT Google and should not be used the same way. If you need help on identifying the topic/subject of your research question, feel free to reach out to your professor or "Ask a Librarian".

Accessing the BCC Library's Databases - Tutorial

Accessing the BCC Library's Databases

Accessing the BCC Library and the Library’s Databases

You can access the BCC (Bronx Community College) Library from home or on campus. You have access to eBooks, Journal articles, newspaper resources, and the library’s databases. You can also contact a librarian with our “Ask a Librarian” feature.

BCC Library has an A-Z List of all the Databases we subscribe to.

  • You can search the A-Z List by Database Name.
  • You can search in a general database such as ‘Academic Search Complete or EbscoHost’ to search across disciplines

OR

  • You can view the subject list of databases we have.
  • We also have the option of using the databases by database type, so if you need only news articles, or only e-books, you can filter the database options by the type of item you need.

From Home or On-Campus:

Go to the Bronx Community College homepage in the internet browser of your choice: i.e. Internet Explorer, Safari, Firefox, or Chrome, by typing www.bcc.cuny.edu

On this page there will be a series of (Horizontal) Green Tabs for various departments.

Select Library to go to the BCC’s Library’s Homepage.

On the Library’s homepage,

  • select the ‘Research’ Tab
  • Scroll and select ‘Articles’
  • To the right of ‘Articles’ select ‘A-Z databases’
  • Select the Database you prefer to use.

*If you are accessing this OFF-Campus, then select the database you want to use, log in using your BCC Library Barcode Number located in the back of your BCC identification. The Library barcode number is both YOUR USERNAME and Password. Please remember that this barcode number needs to be validated in person every semester.